I’ll drive us into the river

I have to cross state lines to get home.  I mean, home home… not my apartment.  Every single time I drive over that bridge, those words replay in my head:

“I’ll drive us into the fucking river, Stella.”

It took me a long time to understand that our relationship was not normal or okay.  He threatened to hit me but never did so I figured it was fine.

I haven’t given this guy a fake name yet.  I guess I’ll call him D (for dumb-ass).

This was a vanilla relationship.  I thought it would be safe.

Leave a Reply

