Yes, they’re sharing a drink they call loneliness

I realize I quite literally just posted on this blog, but I had more words stuck in my head.

This weekend I had the chance to see Billy Joel in concert in Minneapolis.  It was pretty amazing.  I can tell you that 35,000 people singing a long to Piano Man was probably one of the most amazing experiences of my entire life.  I feel comfortable telling you this and not blowing my anonymity for a few reasons:

  1. I do not live anywhere even close to Minneapolis and I do not live in Minnesota at all.
  2. There were 35,000 other people at the show.
  3. If you really wanted to figure out my personal information, you could.  This is the internet after all.

Anyway, the show was amazing.  He brought out Axl Rose for a few songs at which point I started sobbing and emitting high pitched noises. Yup, I fangirled all over the place. My dad listened to a lot of Guns N Roses, AC/DC, etc while I was growing up.  Music, notably rock music, has always been such a huge part of my life.

Yes, the concert was amazing (not quite as awesome as when I saw Fleetwood Mac, but close!) but I felt so alone.  Even with all those people, it just felt so empty.  I was surrounded by couples enjoying time together and I was jealous.

I have Sir and I love him more than I can even put into words, but we are long-distance. It bothers me, I admit that it does and I have admitted it before.  I am not used to long-distance and I will tell you that it is absolutely not ideal.  There is always this fear in the back of mind that it will never be anything but long-distance and that isn’t what I want in the long run.  It’s probably my anxiety making me overthink, but what if it isn’t…?

 

3 thoughts on “Yes, they’re sharing a drink they call loneliness”

Leave a Reply

